Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Thursday, Apr. 24, 2003-5:12 p.m.

"Emergency! (well... a little one, anyway.)"

Axel's Diary 4-24-03

Oh my GOODNESS!! Today was a very exciting day! I was very unsure of what to do, and I had to take care of Dad in an EMERGENCY!!

It started out a very normal day for me. Dad had a doctor's appointment, and he took me with him. (I like his Doctor, actually! He's a nice man who always says hello to me when he comes in. He smiles a lot, and I like that!) I was a little anxious (okay a LOT anxious) because I have been a little confused about what my JOB is right now, with Dad getting better and not so often sick... so I was really torn between protecting him (the Doctor took out his 'staples' ... why did they put STAPLES in my Dad?? I was surely glad they came out! Staples are for PAPERS!!) ...and being really glad that his boo-boo is starting to smell better, and heal up more and more.

We walked home, and on the way, Dad stopped to buy some grochery-kind-of-things. He had his bookbag, but he forgot he might need my backpacks, so I was wearing only my cape and couldn't carry things for him! This meant he had the bag over his shoulder, and a bag in one hand (a heavy one for him! cola and bread and my chews...) and then a little bag with his burrito in it (which *I* got to share!) and in the other hand, his Icee! (Dad is VERY devoted to his Icees...) Because his hands were so full, he let my leash out all the way, (about 6 feet) so he could just let me guide the way home while the end was around his 'busy' hand and the other held lunch!

We were coming home, and this little white dog came out of nowhere. Dad said he looked like an American Eskimo dog, but I only know he was a RUDE dog! At first, he seemed OK. He came running up to me all stiff-legged and alpha-looking, and we sniffed noses... but then he got all arrogant and mean! He started making mock-lunges and charges at me, and then running over to pee on a tree or bush, then running back to me and growling and trying to jump on me! I was very unsure what I should do!! Didn't this little dog know I was WORKING? I can't play "who's top dog" when I am WORKING!!

That's when it got very scary... Dad didn't feel very good already, and he was having trouble getting home, with this little dog chasing us, and me trying to shoo it away with little bounces (couldn't it see how BIG I was!)... and then Dad scolded it and said "SHOO! go away! go home!" and it was MAD!! That little dog curled up his lip and he ran right for him, to kick his BUTT!! Dad was scared I'm sure, but I was very alarmed!!! I have to PROTECT Dad- but I can't EAT little dogs! Oh no! This was a real crisis!

I decided the best way to handle it would be to try and convince the little dog we were NOT playing! I got between him and Dad, and I just KEPT getting between them. I didn't make any sounds, or curl MY lip, I just didn't even play that game!! I just kept getting between them, and when it stopped to mark a tree, I walked further with Dad so we kept getting closer to home...

When we got there, the little dog barked and barked at us, but it didn't come into the parking lot, and I was very worried it would follow... I think tonight I will be EXTRA careful on my walk, in case it is still out there... but do you know what I think? I think I convinced it to stay back! I was OK with it being rude, but when it tried to bite Dad... that was NOT ok!!

WHEW.... I'm all tired out now... I know it might not seem very brave for a great big Rottweiler to 'face down' a tiny little white puffball... but... you know, most dogs like me, they would have decided to teach the little dog a lesson, and they would have forgotton ALL ABOUT their 'jobs' as their Human's partner!! I didn't, and I am very proud of that... I didn't jerk Dad around, and I protected him on a slack leash, instead of being a big problem because of it! I think I will go nap now... I wonder if that little dog lives around here?

Axel