Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Tuesday, Apr. 22, 2003-2:09 p.m.

"Pets and People!"

Axel's Diary 4-22-03:

Today was a puzzling and interesting kind of day, and it's not even over yet!

First of all, I should tell everyone that Dad is OK. He is healing slow, but that's okay, because bad boo-boos heal better that way- slowly from the inside out! So no one worry about Dad but ME, that's MY job!! :)

Today, Dad was a very anxious fellow, and I wondered why. I watched him get ready to go out, which he doesn't do much yet... but the weird thing was how he was arranging to meet someone WITH me. That's never happened like that before- I go with Dad and Pa, of course... and I go to places like the vet or the boarding kennel... but I don't usually get to take Dad to go socialize! (I think Dad might be a hermit, but maybe that will change soon too!)

He took me out, and we went to the restraunt I know- they're always very sweet there, so I don't worry when I go there (except weather or not I will get some yummy chips afterwards! yay!)- we went and sat at one of the usual booths, so I felt pretty good about it all. It was still wierd though, having someone OTHER than Pa sitting with us!!

Dad was NOT feeling good though... and I kept TRYING to tell him!! (He wasn't listening!) I mean, I know how to take him TO a restraunt if he is dehydrated... but I didn't know WHAT to do with him when he was so obviously (to ME anyway!) feeling bad still, and all shakey-wobbly-weak! I could tell, licking his hand, that he wasn't feeling good, so I kept alerting- he kept saying, "I know. Thank you, good job!" ...but then it didn't CHANGE!! yargh!!!

I was pretty good though, and the nice Lady we had lunch with seemed to like me too- she even gave me cookies!! yumminess! I like that a lot! We met a nice lady in the mall who bred Rotties in germany, and she said some very complimentary things about me, too! I was shy, I hid my head under Dsd's jacket, and I woofed when she sent me kissy-kisses from right there! I was saying, "hey! no lipstick! yucky!" but Dad said I can't woof at anyone at all, so I sat down like a good boy instead.

You know the Lady we had lunch with, is the head of this nice place helping Dad to train me? They are called "People and Pets" and she was very very nice! She said nice things to me, and Dad and her talked about all kinds of things while they were out! She is going to set me up with a new trainer, and I will learn all kinds of things! (like how to say 'no kissies!' without woofing, I think. *ducks*)

I was pretty happy on the way home too- if Dad wasn't going to get fixed and feeling better while he was gone, then he was going to feel better when we got home, I was pretty sure... so we did! We went home, and I asked him to write an entry all about it in my diary... I am really really hoping that I can write about my progress as I learn new things, too! There are all kinds of tricks I can learn, that I haven't even come CLOSE to yet! Wow! You can't even imagine, I bet!

I also want to put in a little 'plug' for Dad- he wants you to know that you can learn more about Pets and People by going to their website, www.petsandpeople.org :) They are a very good organization, well worth helping out, as they grow and grow and GROW! If you donate money to them, Dad will send you a SCARF in the mail, just like MINE!! :) (Maybe soon, he can offer personalized ones or something!) You just email us if you donate to them (or otherwise join up or support 'em!) and Dad will send you a scarf in your favorite color even! :)

Wow... what an exciting day for me. I don't know why it was so exciting, but it WAS! I think getting to meet Pat (the Lady we had lunch with) really made Dad happy too, and I am always glad when Dad gets up and goes out more! I hope in the future, we can go to all kinds of other things, and get to meet all kinds of new people! Maybe oneday, I will get to meet YOU!

Axel,

via owner-handler, David