Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Monday, May. 05, 2003-3:10 a.m.

"Escalators! Moving stairs!!"

Axel's Diary 5-5-03:

Today (Sunday, that is- Dad is SO SLOW tonight, typing for me!!), I had an interesting experience. (that's what you call it, right? 'an experience'? when you didn't get what you wanted, but something wierd happened instead?)

Usually, when I take Dad to Target, we take the elevators. ...this whole weekend, the elevators have been broken. (oh no!) Dad doesn't like stairs a whole lot, and Target is WAY upstairs... so he showed me a thing called the 'escalator'.

I don't like 'escalators'. Not one bit.

See, Dad doesn't TAKE me on them, because there is a risk that I could get caught in the little 'teeth' of the stairs! I have to be properly taught to ride on them and to 'hop' off the end in order not to get caught or pinched, or WORSE... but there isn't a choice, sometimes, and so Dad decided that NOW I should learn how to ride on an Escalator... oh my goodness, oh my goodness... I didn't know what to do!

At first, I wouldn't GO on it. Pa came along, for 'moral support'... if that's what you call sneaking up behind me while Dad is trying to coax me to get onto it, and pinching my butt so I JUMP and hop onto it without realizing I did! ...then I stood VEeerrrry still, and watched as everything went past. (I was not amused!) ...but then Dad said, "get ready... wait... wait..." I didn't really know what I was waiting for, you understand- but that's what he says before a big action command like 'jump'! So when he said "jump!" I did!! I hopped right off, and WOW... I got SO MANY pets and snuggles and kisses...

Little did I know they were plotting to do this to me more than once. (whine)

Dad got me to ride the escalator twice UP on Saturday... but on Sunday, they found a way to trick me! (naughty two-leggeds!!)

One of the escalators was broken. It wasn't moving... so they walked me up it several times while 'shopping'... all nice and casual untill I was calm... then they walked me onto the down escalator!! I didn't even realize it was moving untill it was too late!! AUGH!!!

I want you all to know I think escalators must be possessed, evil things... but if DAD says I should learn to ride them... I will consider it. ;)

I don't know if he will keep teaching me this trick or not, or if I will decide it's okay after all, or if maybe I will decide it is NOT okay, and I will suddenly rebel! (okay, that isn't very likely... but I can always dream, huh?) ....but I have a feeling this is not going to be something I will be asked to do very often anyway... and I am GLAD!

I hope they fix the elevators soon.

Axel