Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Thursday, Dec. 26, 2002-2:02 p.m.

"presents!"

Axel's Diary, Thursday, Dec 26th:

WOW... this whole holiday thing is really neat! I watched Dad wrap presents and send them all over (he even took me with to go give some to other people... that was strange.) and a few of them went under the tree. When it was morning on 'christmas' day, there were even some NEW ones- they wrapped them when I was sleeping, I think... or maybe that fat guy at the mall sent them... I don't know if I believe that, even if Dad's computer DID show him flying all over on that evening. (www.noradsanta.org)

I opened one of them, and there were cookies inside!!! I ate and ate, while everyone else opened presents... then they gave me ANOTHER one!! I was so happy I danced! I pulled this one open very carefully, and it had the yummiest treat inside- a whole HOOF, with the cow foot still in it!! (Editor's note: that is SO gross...) I ate and ate, and I chewed on it ALL day! I carried it everywhere I went.

The shopping at this time of year is very confusing. there are so many people, I brush up against them as I walk, or they whack me with bags or coats, and I just SIGH. I am learning that humans are pretty stupid that way, they don't see me, and whack me with stuff! Ugh! I guess I can manage it tho, since Dad always praises me when I am that tolerant.

Dad says he is going to work on some new tricks for me again. I love learning, so I bet this will be fun! I already know how to "pick it up" on command, when Dad points to something... I can bring him the "TV button" (Ed: remote) on command, and I know "give it" and "drop it" pretty good too! Dad wants to teach me to "Put" something someplace... I think this is a little confusing. Like when he taught me "Bring it"... I would pick something up when he asked and pointed, but instead of asking me to drop it ot give it to him... he walked away and said "Bring it!" ...it took me a whole week to figure out he meant I needed to CARRY it for him! He finally got smart, and used MY toys to show me what he meant... because I understood why I should bring my toys when we go to another room! Now I think I got it! ...I guess the next step is supposed to teach me to put something in another something. That might be hard to learn... I see Dad tell me to pick up dirty clothes, and give them to him, and HE puts them in the washer... The same with trash he drops and asks me to pick up for him- he puts it in a trash bin! ...but if I'm not allowed to get anything OUT of the trash or washer... how is he going to show me how to put something IN one? I'm not sure about this, but Dad usually keeps trying untill I learn!

I wonder what tomrrow will be like! Dad said something about another Holiday STILL coming up, about the 'new year'... I wonder, does that mean more presents?

Axel

(Via his owner/handler, David)