Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Thursday, Dec. 19, 2002-12:48 p.m.

"A busy thursday!"

Axel's Diary, 12-19-2002

A busy thursday!

Today was a very busy day for me! I have been sad not to go out to work much while Dad is sick, but today we all got up very early, and instead of Pa taking me out for a walk before work, Pa and Dad took me WITH them!

We went into a place called a 'chai house' where there are some very nice people, and a big jar of Nutter Butter cookies! (I was very impressed by those! Dad says someday, I will have a cookie in the store, if I can learn to give the lady the quarter myself!) But after Pa got his morning chai, we went outside, and I got a cookie anyway!

We went to Dad's doctor's- I love the ladies there, they are all so nice and all came out to see me! I was very 'boisterous' but I behaved for them!! ...Dad was pretty anxious, and I kept /trying/ to calm him down, but he kept getting more and more uncomfortable, saying I was being too exciteable. I couldn't help it! There were so many people I know, and He was so anxious about everything! ...we left, and Dad looked kind of embarassed. I guess I didn't do anything WRONG... except maybe climb into his lap while he was talking to the Doctor. (oh... right. that would probably be it!) but he looked so tired and anxious and hungry and thirsty...

We took a little peice of paper to the pharmacy afterwards. I was good as gold! The ladies who came to the desk said, "oh no, here comes David and his crazy dog!" and Dad looked kind of unhappy- but then they all came to the counter and called my name, and they didn't seem unhappy at ALL! One said, "He does this thing he calls the 'linoleum dance'...." and dad chuckled finally! I guess he thought they didn't like me- how silly! I took him to the water fountain while we waited, and he praised me for it, so I know that was a good thing. (I even did the 'linoleum dance' for them when Dad wasn't looking! They all giggled and pointed, but I sat right up ad soon as Dad looked at me. He gets embarassed when I roll around that way on the cool cool floor...) He bought a snack for later, and got his medicine, and then we went out. Everybody said, "Goodbye Axel!" and the man who sells papers said, "there's my puppy!" when I came out, and waved, and so Dad and I were both pretty happy!

We went to a place I had never been to before! It was like McDonalds, but it belonged to someone named Wendy... Dad got a burger and a potato, and a coke... and I was a perfect angel, he says! I laid there and one person said, "eek- I thought he was a statue!" and smiled. I was very VERY good... and do you know what? After Dad got done, he brought the foam dish outside, and he fed me the rest of the YUMMIEST lunch!! It was a baked potato with cheese and bacon all over it! I was doing the 'happy dog dance' all the way to the bus stop!

We waited a long long time, but there was a very nice lady there who talked about her husband who died, and the dog they had who was a mastiff/great dane/and st. bernard mix!! They said he even got to be 'flower dog' at their wedding! I don't know what that is, but it looked like it made her very happy. I even rubbed up against her hand a little, because she looked so glad to see such a big dog like me.

Dad got off the bus, and we went into a couple stores- he kept praising me and praising me... like I was being so perfect! So I kept doing what I was doing, and do you know what he did? He took me to the PET Store!! We brought home a very yummy-looking bone, flavored like watermelon! (And I stared and stared at the BIGGEST peice of rawhide I have ever seen in my life! WOW!)

It was a long wait for the bus, and Dad was feeling yucky by then- when we got on the bus to go home again, a very interesting man got on. I see him sometimes standing by the street, talking to cars that stop and give him green stuff- sometimes Pa gives him some, or some lunch! He said he was very sorry, but if he'd known I was going to be on the bus, he would have saved me some cheeseburger! (He also said he only had one beer, and it was unopened, but if it had been open he would share that too.... Dad veto'd that one tho! Darn. Whatever 'beer' is, it must be good, because no one at our house brings it home, but everyone outside talks about it a lot!!) He talked to me and talked to me... I kept watching and listening, and he reached out and petted me- and I was very puzzled, but because we got off at the same stop, we walked a little ways together, and he rubbed me all over, like he wasn't scared of me at all! I think he was lonesome, so I snuggled back a little. When we parted, I felt so good I was trotting along quite a bit- and Dad was smiling, and so that's how I know it was a very good day, overall!