Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2002-9:55 a.m.

"New day one!"

Axel's comment of the day: "Humans are so strange... did you know they ENJOY laying in a big tub full of hot water? They just sigh, like it was the greatest thing ever... of course, what can you expect, from the same species that stares at a square electrical box with moving pictures on it, but can't understand why I enjoy rolling in a pile of freshly fallen leaves, or bite at the fresh frost on the grass in the morning... They miss out, I think."

Today must be a confusing day for Axel. He's been doing very well, by the way, and I can tell he has NO idea about this 'yule' thing... he enjoys the music on the radio (our local station plays lots of christmas music, and does neat gift-giving live on the air, to special people around the state who might need that extra boost this year! www.warm1069.com) but he doesn't know what the bird has obviously figured out over his more than a decade of experience- that GOOD things come of this giving holiday! (The bird was heard to announce the other day, that Axel "has no sock" and it was thusly "all mine". (laughs!) We haven't hung ANY socks yet, so the bird is mistaken... the dog will indeed have a sock, and alas, no yule has yet to pass (and never will!) in which the presents are 'all for him'!)

Axel is laying at my side today (I have not been feeling well, with another impending surgical procedure coming up the 13th, I admit I am a little yucky feeling about it all) and reluctant to leave, he's bored out of his skull. He has his toys, but because I can't be gotten to play WITH him today, he is a little bummed out. I think he's also pretty confused- he lays there a while, and then sits up and rests his chin on my arm- and stares at the computer monitor, then at me- as if to wonder, just WHY I find the computer SO facinating... (grin) poor guy. His little sighs of boredom make me feel sorry for him, but he just won't do anything but stick really close to me right now. Silly thing, I adore him for it all the same.

Axel's brain lately has been focused on one thing- FOOD. (okay, it always is, but for some reason, he thinks he's starving lately) He spends untold hours 'garbage surfing' if we don't watch him- as if he would starve, but for the lick of soup off a can's lid, or a crumble of tea leaves left in the garbage can... UGH. He occasionally sticks his whole head in the trash here in the den (which has only paper and maybe a few snack boxes in it!) and then looking up at me with SAD sad eyes... if you didn't know better, you'd think he WAS hungry!! ...but anyone who ever saw him when he first came home (you could see his ribs and his spine and hips!)would hardly recognize him now! He is ALMOST chubby! His body has filled out, and he's grown as little. His paws don't seem quite so ungainly (they are HUGE still tho!) and his body is built much better, more proportionate, as he 'grows up'. But more noticeable to a quick glance, is that he gained wieght- he finally put on enough so that you can't see his bones, or feel his ribs unless you are actually trying to. :) His fur has gotten glossy and cleaner, and his 'itchies' have gone away. (no more dry skin!) I guess he just really does well on this brand of dog food, which is kind of funny, actually.... because it's 'cheap' "Pedigree" lamb and rice... (grin) We had him on the most expensive 'human grade' dog food availible, and he didn't thrive the way he does on this stuff! Go figure. (The cat on the other hand, she eats the human grade stuff and thrives on IT like no other! hrmf. it's great stuff: www.oldmotherhubbard.com has it- it's called "Wellness".)

Right now, he's trying to 'nap' by sitting beside my chair, and resting his head on my arm- which makes it kind of hard to type... heh heh heh! When I pushed his head off, he stood up behind the chair, paws on my shoulders and the chair back, and his head on top of mine!! (whatcha typing, Dad?) :) I think he wants to say "hi" to all those wonderful people in Amador County that saved his life, and ended up bringing him here. :) (that, or he's just wondering WHY humans enjoy poking buttons, when all that happens are some little scribblies appear on the screen.... booooooring! (GRIN))

Thanks for reading the diary today- I will try to keep it current, and I want to especially thank those people who encouraged me to re-open it again. It's neat to think that someone is interested in all the silly little day to day challenges of a Service Dog- and I am so very proud of him, I am more than glad to give him the spotlight!

Axel's owner and Editor-in-Chief, David.