Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Monday, Dec. 30, 2002-4:01 p.m.

"Ham and Cheese...."

This is just one of those moments I really hope my readers will indulge me in- I can't help but share this afternoon with you. :) Axel is doing wonderfully well!

Today for lunch, I decided that I would just sit on the sofa and carve bits of cheese and ham leftover from the holiday dinners, and a few crackers and call it a meal... I wasn't thinking when I got up to use the restroom- I'd left this plate WELL within reach of our beloved noodle-noggin Axel. ...but when I returned, he was patiently laying right where i'd left him! He hadn't budged, and hadn't touched any of that yummy ham and cheese- two of his favorite snacks I am quite sure!!

You may not understand why this means so much to me- after all, isn't that what we EXPECT of a Service Dog? ...that's true, it is. ..but this is AXEL. He had only one true 'fault' when he came to us, and that was FOOD! (grin) It has been amazing, how he's slowly mastered his fears about not getting enough food. He came to us with a history of having been abandoned and probably starved for quite some time- so food was always his one weakness. It was amazing enough that he lay quietly at a restraunt- but at home? I am genuinely touched by his devotion, that he's learned to 'wait his turn' and that he WILL get a bite, or be fed, no matter what. He feels more secure in his place in his new 'pack' now, to be able to wait to be fed!

Amazingly, the dog who once bolted any and all food without ANY chewing (ew), and who sometimes tried to protect his bowl by hovering over it and swallowing as fast as possible- he now sits and waits so patiently for his bite after a meal- and when it's his own feeding times, he brings me his empty bowl, I put in the food, he eats- he CHEWS now! Amazing... and then bless his heart, he brings me the empty bowl again, so I can put it away!

I just don't have words for how wonderful that is for me. It's such a small thing to everyone else, I know! But to me, it is proof of what a strong spirit and what a big heart this boy has in his big ol'Rottie chest. He is learning trust in the world around him, in ways that leave me just beaming with pride. If you ever meet a dog that seems unreachable or just plain troublesome- think about Axel!! I did nothing for him that was remarkable. We took him in and he became my partner. AXEL did the hard work of learning to behave- all I did was ask, expect, and praise. You might be surprised, if you give a dog a chance, and try to understand the way they see things too, that they can become that kind of friend too. Behavior isn't a thing you can whup into a dog, but it is something you can teach, no matter your level of skills, just by communicating clearly to it, and being genuinely happy when the dog picks it up and performs!

I'll hush now, on my moment of 'bragging' on my boy- I still have to do more laundry... I just wish you all could see him help me. To pick up the dirty clothes and hand them to me one at a time, to put into the machine, so I don't have to bend and lift... he is so patient, even when I expect him to help me 'sort' colors, by pointing, and use of 'no, this one' type guidance... he is always so happy when he is working... it makes my life so much better, and I can't help but be tickled that it makes his life good too! Having 'work' to do is his favorite kind of day.

David (Editor)