Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Wednesday, Nov. 27, 2002-9:43 a.m.

"An Important Note!"

A word from the 'editor', Axel's handler/partner/owner:

I have gotten a surprising amount of emails, asking me to start Axel's diary again. I would very much like to do that, but I want to make my readers aware of why I stopped. Hopefully, it will explain to those who didn't know or understand, and give a hint to those who made the trouble to begin with, that they were in the wrong, and my refusing to get involved in the mud-slinging was not a 'surrender', it was a refusal to fight at ALL.

Apparently, some readers who have Service Dogs themselves, and who consider themselves 'important' in the Service Dog community, read Axel's diary at the behest of one or more of their number. The emails sent were edited versions of this diary- not changed, but selectively edited. For instance, there is an entry in which Axel 'says', "So I bit him."- this was passed around, as 'evidence' that the dog bit first Jim (Pa in the diary) and then me, supposedly putting me in the hospital- this was pretty ludicrous, considering these people knew me from lists, and knew the TRUTH all along- or should have! They had carefully edited OUT the statement that followed, stating that Axel did not leave even a mark...

Some important points:

For one: You cannot 'dramatize' a thing like a 'Dog's Diary', without making some concessions in wording. This is the flame I got the most- that it was my own fault for the attacks I got, because I "said he bit"... which is really taking the proverbial grain of truth and BURYING it in a field of manure. (apparently these people had plenty to spare too!) ...They cited all kinds of unbelieveable 'truths' that were completely made up- all based on the ONE choice of words in that statement- Everything else grew off this. Every post I made was torn apart as 'proof' that Axel was vicious and needed to be 'placed in a home so humans will be safe!' and other such nonsense. Some few even threatened me outright- from vague threats of physical harm, to very very specific threats of "telling everyone" where I frequent and live "about that dog"... which could EASILY have ruined my ability to function, and even resulted in his death if they had done so. (Now that I have an established TRUTH of his behavior in public, I no longer have to fear them. Frankly, if they called someone now, the person would laugh outright at them!)

For another thing: A simple FACT: If Axel had bitten anyone, leaving so much as dents or a red mark, I would have considered him out of the running as a Service Dog. I would be VERY uncomfortable with a dog that would bite someone- that would NOT make me safer, it would make him a ticking time bomb. FACT: Axel has NEVER bitten anyone.

I wanted those who might read this, to understand that I have very strong ideas about what a Service Dog should be required to be/do, and that would never include biting! I am aware of the panic and paranoia of those who fear "losing their rights" to idiots who DO falsify their pets (or even personal protection dogs!!) as Service Animals... but that does not give them the right to harass me, as if I were one of them, when they all KNOW for a fact that I am not. I have a long established disability for life- practically everyone who knows me has known this LONG before having a Service Dog became an option for me. Axel has, and WILL continue to receive training from not only myself, but several professional trainers who have graciously donated their time and expertise! I have a consultant who is an animal behavioralist, to help Axel with his 'past baggage'- he is, after all, a rescue. You cannot expect of him the same things that you expect of a show dog! ...on the other hand, he MUST behave far better than any show dog! So he will always receive the best care and training I can possibly give him. When he is ready, I will take him for his final testing and he will be certified. No amount of bullying or pressuring is going to change the bare facts: A Service Dog must behave in certain ways, and learn certain things. Axel WILL do so, or he would be re-homed. He is doing wonderfully, or I would not continue to put this kind of effort into him. Making up things, threatening, or selling the load of manure as truth, will not change those facts.

A final note: I know some people who read this are concerned about the Service Dog issues today. If you are interested in this subject (either for or against, weather you want more information or you want to know where to get more information) you are VERY welcome to email us at: [email protected] or by pressing the "Contact Me" button on this and any other of the diary web-pages.

I very much appreciate those who have complimented me on the fun this Diary has been for those who read it! I have enjoyed writing it!! In the very very near future, I will be continuing this, with one minor change- I will be including more of my 'own' words, so that a reader understands what /is/, and does not take the "dog's point of view" as the sole truth of the universe. ;) Remember... I may LOVE him, and I may rely on him... but he IS still a Dog. ;)

David- Axel's handler/owner