Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Monday, Jul. 21, 2003-6:43 p.m.

"We Have INTERNET!!"

We have Internet!! Yaaaaayyyyy!!!

WOW, we even have a new apartment (or is that, we have a new apartment and IT has the internet again!) I am so so so happy here, too! WOW! Let me tell you all about it!

After the U-Haul conspiracy, which lasted several days, the old home was getting pretty empty. I started getting kind of nervous. (read: REALLY nervous!) One night, Pa and Dad said we were going to STAY in the new apartment, but I hadn't even visited it yet! hrmf!

When I got to the new place, one thing I discovered right away, was it has RUNNING ROOM!! Whoo hoooo!!! I can do 'victory laps' indoors!! (Ed. Note: yeah, YOU get in the way of 100 lbs of rottie crazies, when he's streaking around and around the apartment! hah!) I was so happy! It was GREAT! The carpet is so soft and smooshy, I LOVE it! (Dad makes me be nice and wipe my paws and stuff because it's NEW carpet) We have a new area rug too, and I LOVE that...I roll around on it like it was a pillow- it just feels warm and snuffly to my muzzle, so I am working on a variation of the linoleum dance- it's called 'the rug rhumba'.

You know what ELSE I got?? I got a LANAI!! Yea, I didn't know what a lanai was either, but then they opened the screen door and pushed me outside... and hey! I didn't fall off the side of the building! (we're upstairs over garage stalls, it turns out) I walked out onto this GREAT concrete patio, and it's got neat iron rails I can lay down beside and watch eeeeeeverything go by! It's so GREAT!

That's my new morning game- Lanai time. I get to go outside alone, without a leash, and have a kind of doggie coffee-break. I see the neighbors, and sometimes the new manager walks by and someone says "HI Axel!" and waves, and I get all excited!! I wag my butt or I crouch my front legs down, point my nose at them and whuff!! (That's "hi!" in dog, by the way!)

I love my Lanai... I love the sliding glass door too, when Dad leaves it open and the screen shut- I like to lay RIGHT by it. If the neighbor's baby cries, or there is a siren or a gunshot-kind-of-sound, I am RIGHT there. I can look and I feel like I know everything is OOOoookay!

You know what else?

I got NEIGHBOR-DOGS!!

Yeah! No kidding!! I do!

I'll try and put pictures up, soon! I got a little dog who is beside and above me, who barks at me all the time- and a little white dog on the corner who likes to gaurd the parking lot, and a big dog (well, not as big as ME) right next door!! We stand on the Lanai and stare at each other- I don't know if you could call us friends yet... but Dad says I am doing good, when I refuse to bark just because all the OTHER dogs are. (He even barks at me when I just go past his apartment door to go outside and go potty! hrmf! if he doesn't get nicer, I will call him baddog instead of grey dog, like I do now. hrmf!) I think maybe Dad should bring him a squeeky toy like I have, or maybe a greenie. That might make him happier. Then he would know I am a GOOD dog, and not a bad one, so he doesn't have to look so nervous everytime I am outside, or walking by. (I think he just wants to gaurd his person. I know how that feels. My person can be kind of fragile sometimes, and I can get very puffed-up trying to make him feel safe... maybe the grey dog just feels HIS person needs him! Maybe in time, we will be real friends!)

I have a new friend too, who is a CAT!! He's big and fluffy and orange, and he only has half an ear! He's the first cat who didn't try to EAT me just because I was a dog. I wuv him.

Now that Dad can get to my webpage again, he will type for me, so I can tell you some funny stuff about when I was just getting used to this place- he even took pictures! I was pretty silly...

Like for instance, the first time I got shoved out on the Lanai (I wasn't so sure it was safe, you see...) I loooooked around... I was very unsure. I mean... this was such a new-smelling apartment. (remember what I told you about pee? no one has peed in here yet! It's NEW paint and NEW carpet! *cough* and Dad says it must stay that way. darn.) and so when I went outside, the little long-haired dachshund came running out onto his lanai, and BARKbarkabarkbarkbarked!!! I flinched! I ducked! I RAN INSIDE!! (I was saying, "Dad! Dad! we can't stay here! that dog says it belongs to him!!" but he wouldn't listen!) I was so upset. Everytime I went outside- barkbarkbarkbark! I was scared, so I laid down and made myself verrrrrrry small. Dad swore to me that it was OK... so I did what any dog would do. I gave the littler dog a very apologetic look- and I peed.

Dad was stuck between scolding me and laughing. I don't know what was so funny... I was just saying "see? I am a nice small dog too, and i am going to live here, OK?" but Dad said "no no no... you have to go OUTSIDE for that!" ...I am still a little confused. Aparently the patio is not OUTSIDE... *puzzlepuzzle* But even so, I got it all figured out now...I am not supposed to piddle on the Lanai, even a tiny bit like I did that once. OK! gotcha!

This is a good place, I think. There are so many dogs... my goodness... I have never SEEN so many other dogs! ever! (well, maybe at the shelter, but that doesn't count!) Almost every apartment has a dog, or else they have a cat! I am learning not to be scared of cats, too... these cats are not so scary as the ones where I used to live.

This is getting oh-so-long... and Dad says maybe a celebration of a pizza is in order, because the Internet finally WORKS! I think that sounds like an excellent idea myself... pizza. YUMMY!

Tomorrow or the next day, I will tell you all about the CABLE GUY... wow, was that a wierd thing!

Axel