Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Friday, Apr. 04, 2003-7:32 p.m.

"Zooma Grooma and the Movies!"

Axel's Diary, 4-4-03:

Today was another marvelous Friday! My weekends start on Friday, and I LOVE them! Today, Dad and Pa took me to another MOVIE... you know, I was still dissapointed though. (Okay, so now I know there's not a carpet of popcorn... but when we went to the big thing called the Snack Bar, there were FOUR BIG windows FILLED with Popcorn... I danced and danced... and Pa gave them green stuff (and so MUCH!) and I DANCED some more... but they gave him this itty bitty bag... I was just... there's not WORDS for it! Pa said it was a 'large' and he was never going to be able to finish it all... hope springs eternal though, so I figured surely they'd give ME some!

Lots of people thought I was very sharp today. I had on my new red white and blue bandanna (Pa made it!) and it looked quite dashing. I danced when I walked, because I knew I was SO good lookin' with that on! Wow... The people in the theatre were very nice, and no one spoke meanly at ALL. They all smiled at me and chatted with Dad- and one lady said I was NOTHING like her beagle at home, because I was sitting only a few inches from the Nachos Dad had, but I wasn't stealing them! (of course, I was drooling, and I was really PLEADING with my eyes for some... but I was good anyway!)

I still don't GET movies. Noise comes out from all over the place, these little speakers... and people are all over eating POPCORN... and I can see the screen, but people giggle at me if they catch me watching! It's all very confusing.

This time, I got restless because I have been feeling very anxious lately. I wanted to be TOUCHING Dad... and if he was in the seat and me on the floor, I couldn't touch him. So Dad took me to the corner in the back, and he sat right down on the floor, and we watched together! ...I was still a big pain in the butt, though... the whole theatre (which was only about seven people, actually) had to hear me /panting/. Dad kept asking me to PLEASE stop, but I couldn't, because I was so anxious about this whole movie thing... even so, I was better than I was last time. I laid by Dad a lot, and I played with a chew he gave me, and I just generally was a little bit of a pain to him. I didn't bother anyone else or anything. (unless you could them hearing me pant... that probably annoyed SOMEone... but mostly when they left everyone waved good bye to me, so I guess no one was mad at me for it. That makes me happy!)

What made me even happier, was the trip to the pet shop afterwards!! WOW... I got all kinds of stuff. (but I can only eat them LATER... I had popcorn after the movie, and a cup of water... but Dad and Pa bought me all kinds of things for the coming month and taking care of me!) That's the OTHER good thing about Fridays... some of them are PAYDAYS!!!

I want to tell you about the thing I liked SO much, because I got to use it tonight!! It's called a "Zooma Grooma" for dogs! It's bright yellow, and it's all rubbery (but Dad says it's not a toy, it's a comb or brush thingy!) Dad and Pa have both rubbed it all over me, and the dead 'springtime shed' hair is falling out by the HEAP! I LOVE the way it feels. (Oh Happy Day!!!)

If you have short fur like me, you should get a Zooma Grooma too! It's just WONDERFUL! I love it very much.

Axel,

via owner/handler David