Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Thursday, Mar. 27, 2003-12:16 p.m.

"Humans grooming behavior..."

Axel's Diary, 3-27-03:

Human grooming behavior baffles me.

Today, Dad took me into the bathroom again while he took a bath. Now, I understand why he showers, he always comes out smelling neat and clean. That makes sense. (I like being clean myself!) ...but when he goes in there to 'soak'... that's what confuses me. You see, he puts a few inches of horribly HOT water in there, and then he lays down in it! EEK!! ...I don't know why any human would want to lay in hot water that way... and it makes him sweat, which is kind of the opposite of being clean, isn't it? Ew... THEN, when I decide to steal a drink, he says No, because it's 'nasty water'... now WHY on EARTH would he soak in dirty water? Humans... I don't get them!

Today I have been a little under the weather. I have 'the trots' from eating something yucky- Pa thinks it was that slug I slurped down a couple nights ago, and Dad thinks it is from me licking his plate and getting too much Onion salt... onions are toxic to dogs, you know... whichever it is, I feel better now that Dad gave me some medicine for it- my tummy feels better too.

Dad took me out for another early morning constitutional. (that means I had to go poddy early, and he decided to take me on a LONG walk afterwards, just for 'training'... heh heh!) I love those... today we went to the drugstore, and something inside went CRASH! and I decided discretion was the better part of valor, so I tried to run away... Dad might have been shocked (since I never do that!) except the linoleum was freshly polished, and my feet kept running and running and running... and I wasn't going anywhere!!! Dad was giggling and laughing, and He held my leash, and just that much pressure (which isn't much!) was enough to keep my running feet from going forward any faster than walking speed!! ...I didn't appreciate being laughed at, but then I saw what made the crash, and I guess I felt stupid, cause I stopped, and looked embarassed. (I am a big coward at heart, you know... how was *I* to know the man dropped boxes of easter candy off a tall machine meant to pick them up?? It was LOUD!)

Oh... something else happened today that was SO wonderful!! Dad met a lady who he had been referred to by someone else, and he had called about boarding me there while he has surgery next month or so... and she turned out to be WONDERFUL!! I listened, and laid at Dad's feet while he talked... I sucked on my bandanna like a silly puppy, which is one of my favorite things to do when I am feeling snuggly... and I heard him talking to her about me. She really understands Rotties, and rescued Rotties especially!! I heard them say there is a female a lot like me! (she's scared of never getting fed again too! But like me, she has learned it is safe to eat at her Mom's... that no one will starve her again! Yay!) I am looking forward to meeting them. Dad said next week, so I guess I will have to be patient! Hrmf... it's hard to be patient...

Axel,

via his owner/handler, David