Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Monday, Mar. 17, 2003-3:23 a.m.

"oh happy weekends!"

Axel's Diary, 3-17-03:

Wow... this weekend was one of the best EVER!

I like weekends anyway, because that's when Pa and Dad can BOTH take me places... and I get to spend lots and lots of time with them. It must sound silly, but on Thursdays, I wait by the door untill Pa comes home, because I know Thursday night starts our weekend!! (He doesn't go to his job on Friday very often, so we often get three whole days as a weekend! Woo hoo!!) I am just so excited, I don't think I even know why. I just know weekends are GOOD!

This weekend, Dad took me out in the very very early morning. It was a different kind of 'going out' this time, and I LIKED it!! He brought my flexi-leash (tm) and my halti (tm) and we went out while it was still dark! He took me to the parking lot (it's HUGE!) and then he let out a LOT of leash! I had never been so free in all our walks! I didn't have ANYTHING on except my halti, and I know that Dad was trusting me to be good, because I can take that off by myself when I want. (and I didn't dissapoint him either! I was so so so good... I never even TRIED to take it off!)

I got to run-run-run, which is my favorite game in the world... and he showed me how to JUMP off or over things on command... and I think he was also trying to teach me to walk on a very thin wall... but I wasn't SURE. He said something about needing a plank to teach me to do this, and I think it has something to do with that 'agility' game he keeps talking about with Pa. It sounds like something I would like, actually!

I had so much fun! The sun slowly came up, and I danced and danced... I got to wander around and I did lots of tricks, and I even learned some new ones! I don't know if you can understand why this made me so happy... but it did. It's not easy to be a big dog in an apartment in a city. But times like this remind me that I am a free spirit even though I am on a leash! I can run and dance and play anytime I ask! Dad smiled a lot too, and that's always good. I like it when playing makes us both happy!

Pa took me for a few of these trips too, over the weekend, and I was very glad of it. We had SO much fun too!! I loved it!

Do you know what else happened this weekend? Dad folded down the couch (he calls it a futon-like couch) and he laid down on it like a bed to sleep, because the cat left him some hairballs on the bed, and Pa was washing the blankets and sheets... and Dad didn't feel very good.... while he was laying there asleep, I snuck up on the couch. I laid down with my back to him... and I laid my head on his pillow, and he even put his arm around me while he was asleep!!

You know, that has never happened before. I never trusted anyone to lay an arm ON me while I sleep... and I never slept like that WITH Pa or Dad... I usually go lay down in my crate, which is very closeby... but it felt pretty good... snuggly close... I liked it.

(Don't tell Pa that I liked it that much though! He said that it was bad enough listening to Dad snore on the couch... but when I started to snore, he almost laughed untill he wet himself! I don't want THAT to happen!!)

Oh happy weekends! I can't wait untill next week.

Axel

via owner/handler David