Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2003-3:46 p.m.

"Happy Packs!"

Axel's Diary, Wednesday, 2-26-03:

WOW am I happy today!! I can't even TELL you how happy I am today! My whole BODY is wagging I am so happy today!

Nope, no one snuck me any 'happy pills'. (silly grin) I got to learn a new task today!!

You see, some weeks ago, Dad and Pa took me to a shop and fitted me for a set of backpacks. They are very big and strong and bright red! I wasn't too sure about them when they started making me wear them around (empty) because sometimes they brush up against stuff, and I didn't know why I had to wear them to begin with!

Today, Dad had a doctor's appointment, something about staples out and follow-up and stuff, and because he took a Taxi right there and back, he left me at home!! I was very upset, you know- I LIKE the doctor's!! But he said I would be too 'restless' to go today, and he would try to go out with me when he came back. I sulked.

You know what, though? He DID come back!! And when he did, he took me RIGHT outside!! (he didn't even hang up his coat, he just took me right outside!) He put my tags onto the red backpack, and put it on me. I was a little wierded out, since he hadn't done that for a while... but I was so happy to see my tags (that mean 'work time'!) that I was just bouncing every step I took!

Then, he said we needed some more juice, something about Pa's kidney stones (I was very very worried about Pa last night, he was hurting from them!) and it being healthy for fixing them up... but I know Dad isn't supposed to carry things, so I kind of drug my heels... he bought two BIG jugs of juice, and then do you know what he did?? He put one in each side of my backpack!!!

I was completely wierded out now... I kept turning to LOOK at the packs, like 'hey... what did you do?' and then I would SHAKE... but the pack stayed right where it should. (it has an uber-comfy padded back and straps!) I have never carried anything that was heavy before! It was so very strange...

Dad kept telling me over and over that I was being good... but I walked Veeeerrrry slow. (They rub and bump on me when I walk, and I wasn't sure if that was the 'right' way to carry them... I never felt that before!) He said I looked like a horse with a saddle on for the first time! (hah hah... just you wait, Dad...) He kept having to tell me to hurry it up!

We finally got home, and Dad gave me a LOT of praise!! I was so happy, when he gave me a cookie and praised me and then took them off, I just DANCED! I did GOOD!

In case you can't tell, I am happiest when I get to work... and even though this was new and strange, I was so very happy that it went well... I love Dad, and I love my Job... and I think I could get used to this backpack-carrying thing... we'll see what he wants me to carry NEXT time!

Axel, via his handler, David