Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Monday, Feb. 24, 2003-4:50 p.m.

"Tree limbs and a walk"

Axel's Diary, Monday, Feb 24, 2003:

Today was a 'sad' day for Dad. That means he spent a lot of time not sleeping last night, and then he just crashed and went to sleep for hours during the morning and afternoon. I had to be in my crate, so I was glad he had let me be out with him all last night. He wasn't upset, he just didn't feel good, and then when he went to take a 'nap', he slept and slept and slept! Who knew humans could sleep so much when they don't feel good?

I wanted to go out at my normal time, and go get an icee or something, because Dad seemed like he could use the smiles... but he said he didn't want to go outside at all. I was nice about it, but you know, when a guy's gotta go... then a guy has GOT to go! So Dad got dressed and took me out for my walk.

I had high hopes when we went out, because Dad had put my working harness on me (he says my cape will come soon, too!) and so after I did my business, I tried to coax him to go get an icee... but he didn't want to go. He smiled at people walking by, but he stayed away from them. I don't really know why he sometimes gets like this, but when he does, I take my job very very seriously. I walk slow for him if he's sore (like now!) and I keep an eye on people around us, so if someone comes up fast or too close, I can lead Dad a few steps to the side and let them pass. That way, no 'bad' people sneak up on Dad, and no nice people just startle him half to death either!

We had a very nice walk, in fact. It's getting very cold here, but I still like my afternoon stroll. I didn't want to play 'run run run' like I sometimes do, but Dad thinks that's because I was too busy working for him- I kept watching how sore he looked, and thought maybe he wouldn't want to have me riccocheting all over the place like a crazy-dog! So I trotted around a few times, and then came back to his side so we could walk home.

They cut some trees near my poddy place... I thought the piles of limbs looked neat, and Dad said if he felt better, he might have chosen a few peices to carve- I've never seen Dad carve before, (I don't even know what that word means yet!) but I hear Pa say he used to do it a lot! I wonder why a human would want an old limb off a tree anyway? Humans can be very strange... if he'd just ASKED me to pick it up, I would have! silly human.

Axel, via owner/handler David