Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Thursday, Feb. 20, 2003-2:14 a.m.

"Missing Axel!"

It's so quiet in here...

A quick update, for those who don't know already: Axel is currently in a wonderful Kennel, having a kind of vacation. I had to have major surgery on the 7th of this month, and needed him to be cared for while I wa actually IN the hospital. (technically, legally, he could have come with- but Axel's JOB is to alert and help in a medical crisis... it would not have been fun or fair for him to be brought into a 24/7 crisis while I was in there, you know? He also isn't well trained enough for that!) We decided too, to leave him an extra week (Jim can only go get him on the weekends, since it is a long bus trip!) while I recovered a little more, since I didn't want him to be anxious or upset while I was laid up in bed and unable to do much for myself. I DO miss his help, and I am ready for him to come home NOW! ...but I have to wait untill Saterday. (sniffle)

It's just so quiet... I wish I had my big ol'OX of a shadow, lurking behind me to pick things up if I drop them, or to demand I go get water, or take medicine if I am sick... he is so good at what he does, sometimes I just forget how wonderful he IS, you know? I get caught up in the anxiety of what he doesn't do perfectly, and then I don't realize how truly amazing and wonderful he IS! ...wow. I get all sniffly just thinking about him today, wishing he were here.

I am sure he will have some good tales for everyone when he comes back. (wink) but it will have to wait untill I can get him home, and chat with the people at the kennel over how he spent his time there. (grin) Untill then, I will just have to sit back here and MISS him, and realize how many wonderful skills he has picked up in these few short months!

David, Axel's 'Dad'.