Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Sunday, Oct. 13, 2002-5:05 p.m.

"Dog-speak and belching"

It's another week-end thing! I love these days!! They come EVERY five work-days, and Pa stays HOME for two days!! I have just figured this out for myself, and I am very happy about it all!

This has been an eventuful week-end too, even though we stayed at home this time. I learned all kinds of new things- not all the way, but close!! I know that I can bring my dish to Dad, and he will put FOOD in it! (But he bought a steel bowl, and I think it tastes yucky to carry... we might have to work on this a while, before I do it the way I was with my plastic one...) I am also learning to Fetch! I don't quite understand it's a /game/... but I love it anyway! I bring a toy to Dad or Pa, like my chicken, or my holee-ball, and then they will THROW it! I leap up high like a frisbee dog, trying to get it, and if it bounces on the ground, I POUNCE it! ...of course, this is where I get confused. You see, I want to keep PLAYING... and I bring it right back- but then when Dad or Pa try to take it, I want to play tug of war... (I always keep pushing it into their hand, even if they 'lose'... so they know that's what I want...) but I started noticing this weekend, that if I DROP the toy when they say "give" that They THROW IT AGAIN!!! Yay!!

A funny thing happened to me on Friday. I was at Dad's favorite snack place, waiting for them to cook his little pizza so he could bring it home for lunch (oh, and his icee! can't forget that!) and this very little girl was staring at me with Biiiiig eyes. I thought she looked scared, so I rolled over and wriggled a little so she saw I was not mean. ...but she didn't get UNscared. I was dissapointed (not to mention hungry) and I sat up beside Dad to wait. ...then I had one of my 'embarassing' moments... you know, where Dad turns red and groans like I did something naughty, but not TOO naughty? I burped.

See, I don't just burp, either... I open my mouth and I BELCH really loud... I sound like a human has been coaching me on how to make loud burps! ...but guess what? The little girl pointed at me and LAUGHED!! She said, all giggly, "Look Mom! It's Scooby Doo!!" (that made me pretty happy, even though I don't know who Scooby-Doo is, or why belching made me look like him... Dad must have understood, because he chuckled and patted my head.

You know, today I noticed Dad changed the way he acts twords me. They don't like it when I 'get rowdy' and jump on them, or mouth them... and he bought a book (remember, I was VERY good, laying down peacefully while he looked at books at the bookstore!) ...and now he's starting to act kind of like a real Alpha dog. ...not a big mean human, or any human at all! (well... none I met ever spoke 'dog' body language before...) When he lets me out of my crate, if I jump on him, he turns his back to me, and IGNORES me!! You would think I would get more excited, but I actually get confused a moment. Then I realize he is my Master, and the Masters are Alpha-dogs, kind of. ...so I play quietly, and ask permission to play with toys or to get fed.

It's kind of nice. Today Dad and I ate dinner together, Dog-style!! (hey, before you turn up your noses, just think how cool it was for ME!) I'm used to dinnertime- Dad sits down on the couch, and I get up and try to steal food from his plate even while he's taking bites... hmmm. I usually get put in my crate, and have to WATCH them eat. (ugh!) ...today was different though. Dad was giving me Alpha-dog talk by ignoring me while he cooked, and when he brought his plate out, he ignored me even MORE... I was very confused. Pa gave me my 'buster-cube' to chase around, and I ate the kibble that falls fromn it if you move it JUST right... and I waited patiently. Then when Dad was done, do you know what he did? He called me over, and he put down the little black tray his food got cooked in from the microwave... and he told me *I* could have it!! I licked it and licked it... I almost made a mess, and Dad reached right next to my mouth to hold the corner for me, and I didn't even blink... I was just so happy to be fed in line, just like I would in a pack!!

I hope this keeps getting better. When i'm trying hard to be Alpha all the time, it's hard... I don't know the right things to do... but Dad always knows where food is, and what to do to 'behave'! I like that he's talking my language, and so while he's typing for me tonight, I am actually in the den with both of them!! I'm being good, and minding my manners!

I think my life is getting better already. That must be one good book!

((Ed. Note: the book is entitled "The Dog Listener" by Jan Fennell - It's a great book so far, and i'm only 1/3 of the way through it. It's helping a lot already!))