Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Thursday, Oct. 10, 2002-2:09 p.m.

"Breakthroughs and doors that lead outside"

Today I think I had what Dad calls a 'breakthrough'. (I'm not sure who is training who here, on this issue, to be honest...)

Dad let me out of my crate this morning, and he laid down on the couch to watch his 'court shows'. I know this is what he does every morning, and it's very important to him, but I had not been walked since 7:30 in the morning when Pa left for work!! Today was another 'let me run loose' day- Dad didn't tie my leash to the table, or even put my leash ON me. I could go anywhere in the house I wanted! (He is trying to make me stay out of trouble, I know, but I think he also wants me to learn to be near him all the time. I enjoy that a lot, but there are so many other temptations too!!) I could do anything I wanted, as long as he could see or hear where I was and what I was up to. You know what I chose to do? I went into my crate to get my favorite rawhide chew, and then I laid down by the couch... I 'pulled' his leg over, so his foot was touching me, and I laid there and chewed and chewed on my bone. I was very happy! You know something? Dad was too!

But that's not the real breakthrough today! Today, when I got up to drink water (I drink a LOT of water!) I realized I had to GO! Usually, I bounce around like a lunatic, and I don't know why Dad doesn't understand what I mean... today, I guess I remembered back when we were in the hotel, and I would go nose at the door to tell him to go out- so I ran to the door, and stood like it was going to open at any moment! (I wished it would, actually...) Dad asked "Axel... what are you doing..." because he could just barely see me from the couch! ...so I ran back to him and gently mouthed his hand like I do when I have to lead him somewhere, and I did it again! I looked over at him, and then the door... and him... and the door. ...this time he WATCHED me! I think he was understanding! Just to be SURE, I ran back to him and snuggled him (please please please understand...) and then I did it a third time! Just like the first two- I stood at the door and stared, then looked at him! He asked if I had to go 'out' and 'go' and I BOUNCED once, and stared! (yes yes yes... please, before I can't hold it!)

He said "okay!" and "Good dog" a lot... but he took forever getting dressed! Pa only takes a couple minutes, but for Dad, every trip out is like an adventure into the wilderness or something. He has to have everything he needs, and be all dressed and even have his little pouch-thing all empty and ready to go. My eyeballs were floating by the time he was ready, so I bounced all the way out to the main doors!

I was good walking though, and I waited untill we got to 'the potty place' to do my stuff. I am learning that Dad and Pa both prefer if I do my thing there, because it is away from where people walk normally, but the ground gets a lot of rain and leaves and stuff... other dogs use it too, so it's my chance to 'mark the bullitin board' if I feel like it, too. I don't usually, but sometimes I get the whim to mark a tree or pole, just so they know I said "hi!"

I hope this new signaling thing works out! I know it was also the time when Dad usually takes me out (only I didn't wait for his shows to be over. Sowwy Dad.) so maybe it was coincidence... but I would really like to think that Dad could learn when I REALLY have to GO! That would make things a lot easier on both of us, since he wouldn't have to guess all the time!