Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Wednesday, Oct. 09, 2002-3:33 p.m.

"Lunch and some ladies I met!"

We had an interesting thing happen today... Dad was walking me (even though I could tell he didn't want to leave the house, I had to GO! ...and besides, he loves a good vanilla coke icee... so when I was done, it was easy to drag him twords the target there!) and when we went inside the little restraunt, two older ladies began to coo over me. (That happens a lot! I love it! I 'smiled' at them and wagged my little stump of a tail (I don't do the butt-wag thing! hrmf.) and laid right down on the floor while Dad ordered a lunch and icee to go!

The interesting thing, was that the man at the counter recognized me, and was very patient with Dad, who was a little distracted with the ladies asking him questions about me. (He was feeling shy today, I can tell.) While we waited (which wasn't long!) I laid down, and they asked all KINDS of questions! Finally, one of them said she was asking, because she has a grandson who is very handicapped and in a wheelchair... they had tried to get HIM a service dog, but the place they talked to said he was too young. (That's mean! he is 16 years old, she said! they told him he had to wait untill he was 18!) Dad was very saddened by this, and told them where they could get more information! He told them about the dog who belongs to a little boy with Asperger's Syndrome, and he is MUCH younger than 16! hrmf... I wish I knew someone who had another me, so I could go there and help the boy! I think he'd do very well with a service dog to help him.

I was extra-special good for the ladies, just so that they would feel confidant about service dogs in general... and when Dad left, he was very flustered. He said something about feeling bad he didn't have any brochure or card, or anything to give them, to help them remember where to call for help! I hope he fixes that, because they were such nice ladies, I know they would help the boy get a dog... I hope they do!