Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Tuesday, Oct. 08, 2002-1:05 p.m.

"Dad speaks out!"

Much as I LOVE writing this journal in this way (from Axel's point of view), I think today I should speak for the situation 'myself'. There's just some thngs that are beyond Axel's reasoning, even in a jesting anthropomorphized diary. ;)

Some of my regular readers know I have been going through some very bad times, and I have no intentions of explaining that here- but it bears mention that the things I write about from Axel's POV aren't the most important things in our lives- just in His! (or what I suspect he finds important, anyway! heh!)

One of thwe issues I do want to mention here in passing, is that some people in the Service-Dog community feel that Axel should not be allowed in public, or should not be a Service Dog. I have studied SD's of many breeds, and other Rotties do WELL at their SD duties! I am constantly amazed by Axel's capacity to learn! I think if these people put aside their own fears about how 'the public' or 'authorities' look at a Rottie as an SD, they might discover that a Rottie can be the very BEST choice, in many situations. Look at Axel's accomplishments:

One of the things I bet even Axel doesn't realize, is how FAR he has come in about three weeks! Wowsers... he has learned (to execute with consistancy and reliability) approximately 21 new commands, and has reasonable execution or is 'midway' through learning another 5... there are more of course, by FAR for him to learn... but this is not counting any 'professional' training. Axel at this point, has been my responsibility, and only James and I have been training him. I feel this is an INCREDIBLE accomplishment for this dog especially.

Although he has his faults (doesn't every SD? especially at the beginning?), none of them are what I would call 'serious' in the general sense. Menacing/growling at a cat or another dog would be the kind of thing I would call 'serious', and attacking one would in my opinion, make me feel he was not a good canidate for a SD. As it turns out, when I first picked up Axel, he would not growl at other animals, but he did posture- the Shelter staff put it best: "I don't think he'd EVER attack another dog... but if they start it, I have a bad feeling he would finish it!" In only these few weeks alone (what, three weeks now?) Axel has not only overcome this posturing COMPLETELY... but he has been physically attacked on TWO seperate occasions, and did not growl or fight back at ALL. In fact, he kept turning away, and just trying to avoid them... I find this an amazing indication of his strong heart and spirit! He is willing to learn whatever it takes so that he can be with his 'Dad' and 'Pa' all the time, no matter where they go.

Axel has become so trustworthy in the house, (despite having been raised in a yard, apparently) that he now roams 'free' indoors, whenever I am in the living room- we're working on the den, because he loves all that paper trash in the trashbin. (heh!!) He 'sneaks' bits to mouth on, when I'm not looking... he also is safe in the bedroom, except that I have a feeling he would chew shoes if he could (he ate one of mine when he first arrived, tho he has done nothing like that since)... and James has a tendancy to throw his shoes on the floor... that could be a real bummer! Axel is safe in there when I am (as in the den) but not without supervision, for the safety of our footwear. ;)

Also of note, although I worried about him with the cat, he has shown not one ounce of agression or even any undue interest in her- even though she growls and hisses and agresses him any time they cross paths (she makes sure that seldom happens!)... He is a real trooper to put up with that!

By the same token, he has been marvelous about the bird since day one. (a yellow-naped amazon) He does often sit in front of the cage and just watch it, but every dog or cat I have ever had does that- because the bird has an amazing vocabulary and will 'talk' to the animal in question... often 'baiting' it to come over by throwing out bits of food. (bad bird!) Believe it or not, Axel once stuck his head up on a counter and got down the bag of bird treats... ever wonder about that? He could have eaten other succulant treats... why did he take down and open the bird's favorite treat... and yet not eat it? Hmmm. I need a 24/7 webcam, I tellya!

Anyway, I just felt that today I should put up some positive words about Axel, from MY side of his world. I know he is confused by all the things going on, and I can't imagine what he thinks of it all! ...but I know one thing... He almost ALWAYS has a happy 'smile' on his face, and he spends most of his time urging us to play with him with his toys, or being 'melty dog' and just turning into goo at your feet, to get scratches and snuggles... a favorite hobby of his is to sit in front of one of us on the (futon-style) couch, and bury his head between our forarm and side... he just SNUZZLES... he's a real luv that way.

I hope that anyone reading this is as proud as I am... because the shelter people cared enough about him, he is getting a second chance, and so am I. Because they were honest with me about his traits and faults, I was able to choose him from a multitude of dogs, and know if he would be 'right' for me. Indeed, it seems he fits in very well here. I hope for a long life with him, and many new tricks and games. He is a joy!

'Dad'