Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Sunday, Oct. 06, 2002-1:00 p.m.

"Movies and Working"

I was VERY dissapointed with the whole 'movies' thing yesterday! Hrmf! (What ARE humans thinking, doing that to themselves?)

First of all, there was no carpet made of popcorn all for me. (But EVERYONE *HAD* some popcorn... and that was horrible torture!) Secondly, I was expected to sit perfectly still while a whole ROOMFULL of people sat and stared at a giant TV, and wierd and scary sounds came from ALL AROUND... I did not understand that at all. I would look at the people, and the screen, and then I would look all around at all of the things Dad called 'speakers'... the sounds did not seem to all come from the screen (though some did) so I was very confused. Especially because I noticed what the humans do not- that the sounds changed according to the 'camera angle' on the big screen. So one minute a bad man was talking from the right, and the next from behind me! (Oh that was so strange!)

I was pretty confused about the protocal for this place... going in, the people who own the theatre were very nice- and when Dad realized I was not going to sit still (I kept trying to play!) he took me to some chairs behind a little half-wall, way back in the back... he said something about people with fussing babies standing back there, and being glad it was there for ME... but he was still vexed that I wouldn't lay down and be quiet.

See, from Dad's point of view, this was work-time... but I didn't understand that. He would take me out to the lobby, and I would think "oh my! this is work time out here!" and I was good as gold. perfect angel. Laid right down at his feet the second he stopped anywhere, and made not a sound... but then we'd go into this theatre thing... a BIG BIG room with the giant screen and scary noises... and I could feel how scared and upset everyone was- (especially Dad, who's my responsibility!) and I thought maybe they shouldn't be IN here... maybe Dad would want to play instead.

Uhm, I don't think Dad wanted me to play. Pa kept trying to distract me everytime I was being good and quiet, by giving me handfuls of popcorn on the carpet. (Not QUITE as good as a carpet OF popcorn... but oh well.) And at the end of the movie I was SO glad to go... we had to get grocheries, and of course... I was wonderful. I was quiet, I laid down when Dad stopped, and I was extra careful not to touch even the yummy meat when they got some at the butcher counter! I was SO good... I even didn't sniff at the 'samples' lady who was grilling up big fat sausages! ...I was wonderful.

For some reason, this vexed Dad, who said I did not understand that inside the theatre was working time too! ...that may be... but I probably had a concern Dad didn't understand. You see, this movie was about a very scary BAD MAN... actually more than one, but the one in a cage didn't scare me- it was the one who said almost nothing, but snuck up on people a lot, and made all the people in the theatre JUMP. ...no one screamed or anything, so I knew it wasn't serious, but still... if it was SO scary to them, why did they all pay green stuff to go in there, and why didn't they leave like sensible dogs would, if it wads a scary thing? (Humans just confuse me!)

Dad called the movies 'the red dragon' or maybe the one we saw... but I was just glad to go home, because Pa bought me a wonderful thing called a 'shank'... it is a big bone with a HUGE amount of meat all around it, kind of like an extra-thick steak just for dogs... he said when he cooks dinner tonight, he will make that one for ME... wow, I did try to be good yesterday... but my own steak? who'd have thought?

Speaking of tonight- Dad and Pa laughed some (finally!) when I found a new game to play when I am feeling rowdy... it's called 'chase the tail'... they say it is funny, because I have only a stump of a tail! ...but I think it's the most fun because they laugh while I am turning spins in the living room floor!

I need a nap now, after all that spinning and chasing... (I never did catch it, though... hmmmm.) I will look forward to my yummy dinner tonight, and dream of all the beef shanks in the world all for me!