Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Thursday, Oct. 03, 2002-5:42 p.m.

"Radiation and Upsets"

Yesterday was not a good day for me. (I think it was not a good day for Dad or Pa either, but I don't understand why.)

We got up very early, all three of us! (usually Dad sleeps in and Pa takes me for a walk!)...we went on the bus, and I was very good, and very happy because we were together!

Then we got off the bus at the Vet... I wasn't very happy about that, but we went in and the lady at the desk talked nice to me. They wieghed me and I was 80.1 lbs! Dad was glad I had put on a LITTLE wieght anyway! ...but then the Tech I do not like came in. I was very suspicious right away.

Dad said he SWORE he would come back for me... and the man brought a big gun-looking thing to check me for a microchip, just in case! ...I was very upset when he waved that thing around me, and I GROWLED... Pa scolded and Dad grabbed my head- but when the guy frowned at me and waved the thing again, I lashed out very hard and tried to bite him!! I do NOT like him!!

Dad was upset, and he said he would take me back- and they put me into a kennel in a room. It was JUST like a POUND!!! I was so upset!

I was there ALL day... Dad didn't come untill LATE! He smelled like the hospital by the doctor we went to the other day... and he did not look like he felt good at ALL! Pa came shortly after that, so we could travel home together...

I was sweetness and light to the nurse-lady who took care of me. When she took me to Dad in the waiting room, she had me off leash, and I was doing all kinds of things for her! (she gives me treats when I do good!) Dad just stared and stared... I didn't know why at first, because I was being so GOOD!! But then I overheard him telling Pa things that I guess they told him before Pa came... that I was in the kennel all day (except when this nice lady took me out to potty!) because I growled at the vet, when she tried to 'test my temperment'... I am a little confused. The vet LIKES me, and when I growl, she respects my space! ...but I really hate the Tech... I would bite him if onlyn I could REACH him. (No one knows why... but he was very rude to Pa on the phone, and Pa said he thinks I must have tried to bite him more while I was boarding there... I am glad they're not TOO mad, though... I can't help it if I hate him and he is always grabbing me!!

We stopped by an Ihop restraunt to eat, and I was SO good that when we got up to leave, and I came out from under the table, all kinds of people around me gasped and sounded shocked and asked where I CAME from... no one had even SEEN or NOTICED me under there!! they were all very impressed! Dad even smiled pretty big, so I must have done something right!

When we got home, Dad laid down again... he napped and he sat up and he took lots of baths and showers- I found out he was sad and not feeling good because of the tests they did to him! That was why I had to stay at that vet's office all day. I needed to be away from the radiation they were going to use! (and Dad wasn't sure I wouldn't try to 'defend' him if I was there, too...)

I found out that Dad is going to have to have surgery again. Twice. All in this month, too! He is very upset that I can't be with him (though I don't understand why, it has something to do with me growling and snapping at strangers when they grab me)... and he is upset too about being so sick and maybe not getting better. I don't understand, so I just lay my head on his chest and lick him! (he likes that I think!)

Today wasn't much better than yesterday- Dad took me out for a walk to lunch, but he didn't go very fast, and I think he was still feeling yucky. (I'm sure he didn't want to go out at ALL, in fact...) I was good, though... I even laid down while a lady talked to him and while he ate! I think I am a very good boy, really. Considering that he is always talking about training, but I am so good already everyone likes me! (um, everyone but the vet and that tech, anyway...)

Today, Dad was very upset, and he is making me spend a lot of time in my crate, because I am 'too rowdy' today. He thinks I am trying to be rough, but I am trying to make him happy by playing. He just wants to lay around and be upset, and I thought it was MY job to make sure he gets up and is happy!! hrmf... I don't understand.

I heard him tell Pa on the phone that he was upset because the trainers wanted too much money, and they had said it wouldn't COST him at ALL before this... I know money is a problem because Dad went to get me... He spent a lot of today trying to talk o the landlord- Something about evictions and being late with rent and water bills- humans confuse me, and I don't know what these things are, but they sure upset Dad! Even Pa is kind of hanging his head a little... it makes me very worried, which makes me try to cheer them up with playing... and then I am in my crate all over again! (I'm going to get cranky here soon if everyone doesn't get happy again...)

Maybe tomorrow I will start to understand why Dad is SO upset. He said we might go somewhere tomorrow, or Monday after the weekend. Maybe that will explain it all a little... humans are so wierd.