Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Tuesday, Oct. 01, 2002-11:26 p.m.

"Strange evening: a Robin and a Duck!"

Wow, tonight was fun... we went out together, Dad and Pa and me...

I got to eat at a VERY noisy restraunt (a 'Red Robin' they called it!)... there were people singing and clapping and food everywhere- and TV's all over with football on them! I was very good and laid right down beside Dad. (The people at the front door loved me very much and wanted to pet me, but Dad said 'no petting while you work!' and I pouted! The waiter though, he looked scared of me, so Dad bribed me with a french fry again, to get me under the table.

The funny thing is that when we were done eating, I came out, anf the people at the next tables JUMPED and yelped, and asked WHERE that BIG dog WAS all that time!! They didn't even see me!! (That means I was doing my job very VERY well!!) I 'laughed' at them and wagged my tail and tongue, and pranced all the way out the door, while Pa explained! I was pretty happy.

Dad had to go to the restroom, and he took me inside like always. As he was washing his hands and stuff a BIG man in a white uniform and a big hat came in and SCOWLED. He pointed a finger at me and then at the door, and said "OUT" at Dad. He was startled, but he smiled and showed him my tag and said, "Oh... he's a service dog." and then man Oooooh'd and then got on his radio- he said in a very funny voice, "The BIG Rottweiler in the food court...? A service dog." we went out, and Pa was very gruff, he asked if that man 'harassed' us! Dad said oh no, he was nice, and Pa said there was a man in the food court who was very angry about a ROTTWEILER in the mall... he was upset and called security. But then the nice gaurd-man smiled at us, and walked a little beside us, and said I was a very nice dog! He liked me, I think, he kept smiling, and even let me sniff his hand! I think it went pretty well, really. That is the first time anyone ever 'challenged' us, and I was glad no one was mad at me, because I was having fun at the mall today!!

This was really my first time being in the WHOLE mall, walking all the way through it- and there were SO many people!! I kept wanting to stop and say hello to EVERYONE! I was SO happy. People all through the mall stopped Dad and asked about me, or told me what a beautiful dog I was, or what a nice puppy... Everyone wanted to pet me, too!! (Dad still doesn't let people pet me tho... maybe when he knows I won't growl at them ever, he will say 'okay' more often, and let me say hello to people. He is just so scared I might growl at someone or something, and mess everything up! hrmf!)

There were so many things to do and see!! I saw a giant man in armor, holding a sword!! Dad said 'there's no one in there, Axel... see?' but I eyeballed it pretty hard. It looked like a person to ME!! There was also a LOT of little kids, who all wanted to pet me, but I stay away from the small ones, because they grab my ears!! yipes! (I secretly like them, though, and someday someone will notice that- because I like to bounce for them so they giggle. Then I flop down on my side, and they laugh and laugh!) Dad shopped for dog books today, and Pa bought a game at a store for a friend- someone I have never met, but they like very much! They talk to him on the computer, when I am napping in my new crate. (hrmf. when they are on the computer, I have to be quiet and play by myself! fooey!)

Dad tried to freak me out by showing me a GIANT dragon in the game store- it looked like a HUGE twenty foot wise hawk or something, it's claws and teeth all bared... but I just looked at it like, 'so what?' and Dad said 'DARN!' and snuggled all over me. I don't think he REALLY meant to scare me, or he wouldn't have got down and hugged me while he pointed it out. I'd already seen it, you see, so I wasn't scared! besides, Pa was standing RIGHT under it, and HE didn't seem afraid!!

I got very bored while Pa looked around, and Dad just looked at a book waiting... so I snuck around a case, and I FLOPPED down, and rolled around on my back, and looked at everyone upside down!! They giggled and laughed when they saw me, and people came over to sneak a pet- I don't know if Dad could catch them all before they got a lick though! ha ha! I was pretty happy, and I think it was a fun fun day!

We went to Target on the way home, and Pa bought me some MORE toys!! WOW, now I am sure I have more toys than any dog on earth! (They're all very different too. Dad says that's so I can learn things later, but I don't know what he means yet.) One is a GIANT stuffed DUCK! It looks like a cartoon duck, with bright yellow 'feathers' of long plush fur, and bright orange legs and beak- it's head and feet dangle and flop, and it has floppy wings- each one with a squeaker in it! I love to hold it in my mouth, and throw my head back and forth and let the legs and head swak against my ears and head! HA ha!! I bounce and hold it with my front paws- Dad says he is going to teach me to catch a football, because I catch my new duck just the right way. (But I don't know what a football is yet... do you? Maybe you could tell me, so I know how to catch it... hmmmm.)

I got some more rawhide chews, and another 'Jumbone' which Dad swears I can eat in less than five or ten minutes. Maybe... but I LOVE doing it!! yay! I just think my life is very good right now. I am not always 'good' all the time, but I try SO hard, that Dad just can't help but love me. (Tonight, before I went to bed in my new crate, I laid on the floor and snuggled him and snuggled him. I was saying 'thank you for nt being mad at me today' but he said I was a good boy this evening... so maybe I did things right after all! (except... I am still wierded out... why do they want me to push the giant button by the door of the mall? It makes the doors open, and that's kind of WIERD... maybe someday I'll understand why they are teaching me that... Dad says 'good boy! now I don't have to drag the door open!' but I have NO idea why he says that! He seems very pleased, but I still get wierded out, and RUN through the doors fast! humans are SO strange!)