Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Tuesday, Oct. 01, 2002-1:42 p.m.

"rowdy but trying to be good"

Yesterday Dad was too 'frazzled' to make an entry. I think I had something to do with it, but I don't know why! I was feeling 'my oats' he said, and being 'rowdy'... I had another fight with Pa (James) and he won again!! (HOW does that keep happening? I should be bigger than him... but he always wins. ugh!)I think he cheats- he rolls me over onto my back when i'm being pushy, and then I give up before I even remember that I was supposed to be making HIM give up! drat!

I was pretty naughty, Dad said, all day. I got bored and ate one of Dad's shoes. (just the TOP part... they were almost still wearable, if you don't mind everyone seeing your foot as you walk.... I didn't know what the big deal was!) Dad was very frustrated, but he said 'one more day...' and then I wouldn't do that anymore. I was confused, but then that evening, he took me out to 'work' again!

I always love work, but I was very rowdy anyway. I'm just so happy and I want to play all the time, but when I put my mouth on people or jump up on them, they think I am being mean!! Sometimes, they flinch, and I lay on my back to show them I wasn't being mean... but they don't want to play anyway. Dad says 'It's WORK time, not play time.' and mostly I don't listen because I want to play so MUCH!!

I was okay though, untill we got to the pet store! One of the trainers there kept giving me treats, and Dad and Pa kept showing me all these cool toys (and SOMETIMES they put them in the cart!! I know that means they're coming home with us! yay!!) I got all kinds of toys, and I got SO excited, that even though I let the trainer pet me- I jumped up and SNAPPED at the air right near her! She was startled at first, then she kept saying she saw it coming- a mile away... and that she thought I just had REALLY bad play habits. She said something about schooling me, so I guess we are going to take some classes soon. I hope it's fun.

I was better afterwards, but not better enough, I think...because Dad was just so tired, and so frustrated... We waited by the store, and pretty soon, a big yellow car came to get us (just like when Dad got sick that first day we were here! I was worried about what that meant, so I laid my head in Dad's lap almost all the way home. Once we went home though, I was all happy again!) Pa said that the reason we did that, is because the big box he bought was too heavy to carry on the bus!

I finally found out what a 'crate' is... it's a big steel thing that Pa put together for me, and it came out of the big box! Pas says someone 'crate trained' me before, because although I balk just a LITTLE, I am very happy inside my new home. (So THAT's what they meant by 'new home'!! yay!) I laid inside my new 'crate' for a long time, before everyone went to bed and I slept... it was a little lonely, because I was in the living room all alone... but I slept VERY well, because Pa gave me HIS pillow, AND my blankie to sleep with!! I was very very content.

I guess I shouldn't blame myself for Dad's mood- he says it isn't just me, but that I am wearing him out... He's very sad right now, and he acts like he is in a lot of pain. I didn't like that, and today when we went outside, I was very nervous. (I'm usually very confidant!) I kept shying away from scary things like the big trucks in the road, or strangers who looked scary... and Dad was kind of sad still. He kept asking me "What are you DOING?" and telling me we were "Working, not playing" when I tried to cheer him up.

We went into a doctor's office today. I was okay, but Dad says I could have been better. I was still too rowdy. Pa says I am getting too high a protien or energy in my food, and I need to calm down!!

In the waiting room, I was okay at first, then I wanted to play play play!! The lady behind the desk said I was 'just being a puppy' and she could see that because SHE has a Rottweiler at home- she says he weighs 185 pounds!! WOW... that's HUGE!! She wasn't real bothered by me, but like Dad, she seemed kind of dissapointed in me. Dad took me for a walk in the hall to 're-focus' me, but it only lasted a few minutes before I got rowdy again. (sigh... Dad just looks so sad... I just want to PLAY and cheer him up!!)

Lucky for Dad, the doctor is SUCH a nice guy!! He kept telling Dad it was OKAY... that he wasn't scared of me, and that Dad didn't have to worry about me, or him being 'intimidated' by my play- he could see I was trying to play and not trying to be mean. He was very patient, and super-nice to Dad.

I was okay, tied to the rail by the exam table, while they did weird human-things that made the Doctor say "hmmmm" a lot, and made Dad wince and make sounds like an owie... When I smelled a little blood, I got upset, and I kept trying to SQUEEZE my head between the table and the wall to get Dad's attention. I needed to know he was allright- once he told me 'good boy' and I knew he wasn't being hurt, I was calmer again. I just wanted to keep standing up to look at Dad's face, to make SURE... *I* didn't know this guy, and I didn't *not* trust him either, because he was SO nice to Dad- I guess it was a human thing that was just a lot like my experiences at the vet. I suppose he was a human-vet!! (ha ha!)

We walked ALLLLLLLllll the way home, and I got pretty tired. Dad says that's GOOD, because I will get into less trouble that way! He says I must be extra good too, because tonight we are going over to meet Pa after work, to get a book at the bookstore. Some of Dad's friends say that there are a lot of good books to help him deal with my rowdy-ness and to help him train me better. I can't wait untill all the fun of training! I LIKE my work, and all those tricks!

OH!! I forgot to tell everyone! Dad and Pa finally gave me a REAL LIVE NAME... not just little mooshy 'luv names' like they've been using!! Just before the weekend, they decided to name me "Axel". I like that name a lot! I wag my tail when someone says it, because I know I might get a treat! (I also like it when they call me 'lunkhead' and 'you big ox!'... I 'laugh' at them, and wag my tongue out, and make my head go sideways like I think it is funny. I know when they're teasing me, because they smile too!

I need a nap I think. Later tonight I will try and write about the book or books Dad gets, and I will tell you ALL about the fun toys Dad and Pa brought home for me when they bought my crate! WOW... I am the luckiest boy in the world... I have more toys than the bird or the cat I think!! (Pa says no way, but it sure FEELS like it!!) yay!!!