Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Sunday, Sept. 29, 2002-8:35 p.m.

"A confusing day..."

Everyone stayed up SO late last night. I didn't know a 'weekend' day was going to be SO tiring!

Then you know what? No one even got out of bed untill LATE too!! I was very good and tried to be quiet, but I finally couldn't wait anymore, and I woke up Pa to go on the morning walk. (I really really had to go, too!) He grumbled and growled while he got dressed, but he wasn't actually in a bad mood... he just didn't like waking up!

Dad kept sleeping like always. (phoo!) He slept and slept and slept... and since Pa brought me back to the bedroom to sleep more, (even though HE got up right after a short nap!) I tried to be good and patient while Dad slept... but he slept and slept and slept MORE!!! Finally, I couldn't stand it anymore. I snuck up on the bed and nosed him. I pawed him. I snuck my whole BODY on the bed, and I tugged verrrrry gently on the covers, uncovering him untill he said "Argh!" and got UP! (Yaaaaayy!! I danced!!)

I think he was secretly proud of me, because I heard Pa ask him if THAT was what he had in mind when he said he wanted a service dog that helped him wake up in the mornings... he said something about not on sundays, but I was smiling and dancing and he was smiling too... I was also /starving/! Luckily, the first thing Dad does when he gets up, is feed me. (yay!)

I was pretty happy too- I played, because I was glad there were TWO 'weekend' days this week! (I wonder if there are ALWAYS two? Oh I hope so!) I played with Dad, then I played with Pa, then I played with my booda chew... Then I wanted to go out and WORK... Dad kept saying something about sunday, and they talked about what might need doing- but in the end, Dad finally got dressed and took me outside! I love working!

We went to McDonalds, which is a pretty nice place- I like that Dad sneaks me a french fry or two, to bribe me to lay down under the table. (I'm just learning how to do that part... I prefer to lay down on the floor BY the table, but Dad wants me UNDER it...darn.) He ate, and read a magazine, and I was pretty good. I've been better though, because today I kept sneaking my head into his lap to sniff and see if there might be any fries left. I don't think he was amused... darn again.

When we went home, I made a mistake. Although I went potty on the way out, I suddenly had to go again, and I made poo right on the sidewalk... he was kind of mad, I think, even though he didn't yell again. He pulled me over to the dirt, and I finished, but then I was really quiet on the rest of the way home... I went potty right when he asked me to, before we went inside, because I know he was mad I got the sidewalk dirty...

He wasn't too happy, but he wasn't MAD... so I tried to cheer everybody up by playing with Pa when we got home. Dad remembered he didn't get something he meant to, and he said he USED to walk to places like Target alone, so he'd do it again while Pa played with me. He was gone a LONG time!! He never takes that long when *I* am with him. I bet he got all slow and confused and couldn't decide what to buy and stuff. (It's my job, you see, to poke him if he gets that way- then he gets things done faster!)

When he got back, he brought me a bright red collar (because I was pulling in the harness when they tied me to the table leg... uhm, they had to do that because I am so 'rowdy', they said... and something about a crate or kennel tomorrow, but I dunno what they meant, so I will have to wait untill tomorrow to see. I like my new collar! Even though I can't lunge with it, I like it lots more when I am going out on walks with Pa- because I can't pull so hard, and he doesn't get mad. (I only use my halti when I am 'working'!)

Dad brought me a couple toys- a stuffed rottie-ring with a squeaker and rattle, and a pair of bacon-bones... I ate one bone so quick, that I think I made Dad a little sad- he said he would have to buy a bigger one next time... I don't see why THAT made him sad!! A bigger one sounds GREAT to me!! (Maybe it's that Target doesn't HAVE the big ones? He gets those at the petsmart-place where he has to take the bus to get there.) I played, but Pa told on me... while Dad was gone, we had a kind of fight. I started out playing, but I wanted the couch, which makes a great bed, and he said NO... and I thought, hey, why should *I* have to be low dog on the totem pole? So I bit him. (not A REAL bite, you know! I love him, and I didn't even close my mouth hard enough to make a pink mark) But then the fight was on. Uhm... I lost. (I don't know HOW that happened!! I am so strong... darnit!) So Pa got to keep the couch, and I had to lay down and be good for a while. (which I did, by the way. hrmf! How was *I* to know that Pa wouldn't allow me to move in and become the top-dog? I think being an Alpha-dog would be GREAT!)

When it came time for my night-time walk, Pa and I saw the STRANGEST thing EVER!! ...I love to watch squirrels (Dad says I'd probably like to chase them even more, but they wouldn't let me.) and I saw a man walking a squirrel on a leash!! Pa said it was a 'ferret', but it looked like a squirrel to me! (Or maybe half cat, half squirrel... I only wanted to CHASE it, not eat it.) I don't know... the man was very nice, but why does he have a pet-thing like that? Maybe he plans to eat it later, and he's just fattening it up, and being nice so it doesn't get suspicious... humans can be very clever when they want to be...

I think my day was confusing... I will be glad if tomorrow is a work-day again. I miss work-days. Pa said I get a 'new home' tomorrow, and I pouted! But then he said it would be a kennel or crate, and I still don't know for sure what that is. (Except it has something to do with where I will sleep, while I am rowdy, or where I will have to go if I am naughty... hmmmm. I wonder if this is about that chewed-up stuff? They weren't MAD... but maybe they plan to jail me when they can't watch me. Do you think? I'll wait untill tomorrow to see!

Just between you and me, I don't care... I LIKE the store they're going to meet at tomorrow evening. That's where Dad buys the big bones, and the yummy treats... and there's kitties to snuzzle through the glass, and sometimes other dogs to sniff, though Dad doesn't let me get CLOSE... I think he's afraid I'd eat them. (hmmmm maybe I would, but only if the OTHER dog tried to eat me first!)

I hope I get lots of nice stuff tomorrow... that will make up for it, I think. If I have to sleep in a 'crate' when I am being 'rowdy', maybe they will put toys in there with me, so I'm not bored. (That's what they do when I am 'tied' to the table so I don't get into trouble inside! They make sure I have toys... I *LOVE* my hat! I will post a picture of me and hat as soon as I can!)