Navigation
Current
Older
Previous
Next

Information
A picture of Axel
About ... Axel
About ... David
Axel's Picks
Profile

Contact
Email
Guestbook
Notes

Links
Delta Society
Service-dog.org
Sitstay.com
Designer
Host

Friday, Sept. 27, 2002-1:42 p.m.

"Grochery shopping"

Today, Dad and me did a great thing! Around here, everyone but me has been eating a lot of fast food that Pa (That's what the bird calls James!) would bring home after work... but me an' Dad went to the grochery store, and we brought home food!!!

I was SO good. Dad took me for a walk, and he made sure I did all my pottying... then he told me we were going inside a 'house'... a grochery store. I didn't know what he meant, but I knew 'house' meant a place where I have to behave. (especially in the potty department. I never NEVER want to see Dad so upset as he was when I made that one mistake!!)

No one even asked what I was doing there! We just got a cart (I was especially careful to walk with my nose right next to it and my harness next to Dad's hand) and we went over to this big glass case just FULL of meat! it smelled SO good... Dad said to 'sit and stay' and to 'be good' and so I did just what I do at a restraunt. I laid down quietly. People smiled at me! I thought it might be because I was so handsome, but Dad said I was such a good boy, so now I think it might have been because I laid down while they picked out all kinds of sandwich meat and cheeses! I'll have to try to do that more often!

I was even a perfect gentleman at the butcher counter! I could smell a lady next to me cooking meat, and giving it out to people on tiny little sticks like Pa sometimes eats with when they order in! ...I knew I cannot eat inside human food places, so I walked right by with only a little sniff of the air. I got lots of ear scritches for that!! Dad got me something in the pet department, but he hasn't given it to me yet, so I don't know WHAT it might be!

I was even better on the way home, because Dad wasn't feeling too good. It's that heat thing again. He was carrying grocheries too, like he isn't supposed to do... and so I kept trying to nudge him to go get water, but he just said "I know. We're going home!" I don't know... he wasn't listening to me! Sure enough, when we got home, he didn't look very good. (How come humans never listen? We dogs know just what we're doing!) So now he's sitting down and drinking water, while I make my day's entry on the diary... well, actually, he has to type it FOR me, because paws are awefully hard to type with.

He wants me to tell you about this morning too! James took me on my run this morning like he does every morning... but then instead of sleeping quietly when I got back, I woke Dad up... oh he was GRUMPY. I kept waking him up though! (There they go, not listening!) He said I just WENT out, but I didn't give up. Pretty soon, he sat up and was saying some words I haven't heard him say before. (especially in that tone!) But then he looked down, and he found out why I was waking him up!! That little plastic baggy thing on his tummy had broken, and it was leaking! (when *I* make a smell like that they yell and clean it up! I figured that bag is never open unless he's emptying it in the human potty, so something must be wrong...) He gave me LOTS of snuggles, because I woke him up before he ruined the sheets or anything! Then he cleaned up and changed the little baggy (I get worried about that, because he has a HOLE under there! That's very scary to me.) and we went in the living room. We watched TV and he tried to teach me a new trick. I didn't quite understand though... maybe later tonight, Pa can explain it to me! He sometimes makes more sense anyway.

It was so hot today, I am going to take a nap, and listen to the TV... I will write more later!